Creative approach

Dualism in artistic representation is for the artist the reflection of the elements of duality present in nature, in thought and in the human condition. Her artistic work, naturally emerges from the principles of duality. She uses geometry to represent the structured realities of thought, nature and human life. Organic forms, specially references to the human body, bear witness to the random realities of living status. For her, these two types of realities coexist in all things. The organic world, necessarily imperfect and temporal, is made up of infinitely small basic elements, close to geometric perfection. 

Diptique.jpg

Colors and transparency are of paramount importance in his work. Transparency is one of her privileged means of bringing out the dualities of the real world and the visual representation. Transparency to unify images, modulate light and colors, change their qualities. Transparency questions the limit. Limits of the visible, limit of the tangible. See through, crystalline images, see up close, see from afar. 

 

 

Very attached to communication, Janick integrates more and more graphic signs directly on the canvas, even complete sentences. No wonder, she has an interest since a young age in words and writing: poems and soon novels. Most recently, sensitive to the environmental crisis, she has produced a collection of works, in accordance with her approach and her formal preferences, but using only recycled materials from her workshop: papers, fabrics, painting, pastels, etc. Polymorphic artist, over the years, Janick has created numerous works, sometimes figurative, sometimes abstract; that comes in a multitude of forms and materials: drawings, paintings, digital works, silkscreen prints, engravings, real and even virtual sculptures…  

To view my master's thesis entitled " Dualism in Representation " (in French), click here!

In her works, she brings to life, abstraction and figurative, color and transparency, the microscopic and the macroscopic, photography and painting, the real and the virtual, the pixel and the cell. The artist has been using the digital medium for 20 years in her work, because of his unrivaled assembly capabilities through transparency. When she uses it, she seeks to exploit the specificity of the medium, to make works that she could not achieve without him. This medium is the basis of the assemblage of her hybrid works (digital media and painting). It allows an extraordinary precision work in successive layers (layers). This artistic approach, by layer, recalls one of the oldest and best-known techniques of painting, used for centuries by painters from yesterday until now. Technology revisits painting. The new celebrate the old. Layer overlays. Overlays of time and space. But the past is not a guarantee of the future. It is important for the artist to continue to look for the best ways to translate her inner vision. This is a decisive condition for the creation of a work that resonates. 

Corps et dentelle.jpg

In her recent works, the artist looked at the origins, the similarities between the kingdoms. She was interested, by analogy, in the animal world, then plant and finally mineral. The continuum of life backwards. Involution. And finally, to close the loop, she was inspired by the intervention of man on the rock: petroglyphs, hieroglyphs; incorporating elements of anthropomorphism of indigenous peoples in her new shattered and colorful paintings. She invariably returns to her concerns about human life and its means of expression.

© 2019- 2020 par Janick Laberge

Démarche

Le dualisme dans la représentation artistique est pour l’artiste le reflet des éléments de dualité présents dans la nature, dans la pensée et dans la condition humaine. Son travail de création émerge naturellement des principes de dualité. Elle utilise la géométrie pour représenter les réalités structurées de la pensée, de la nature et de la vie humaine. Les formes organiques, les références au corps humain en particulier, témoignent des réalités aléatoires du statut de vivant. Pour elle, ces deux types de réalités cohabitent en toute chose. Le monde organique, forcément imparfait et temporel, est constitué d’éléments de base infiniment petits, proches de la perfection géométrique. 

Les couleurs et la transparence ont une importance capitale dans son travail. La transparence est un de ses moyens privilégiés pour faire apparaître les dualités du monde réel et de la représentation. La transparence pour unifier les images, moduler la lumière et les couleurs, en changer les qualités. La transparence questionne la limite. Limite du visible, limite du tangible. Voir à travers, cristallin de l’image, voir de près, voir de loin. 

Très attachée à la communication, Janick intègre de plus en plus de signes graphiques directement sur la toile, voire des phrases complètes. Pas étonnant, puisqu’elle possède un intérêt depuis son jeune âge pour les mots et l’écriture : poèmes et bientôt romans. Tout dernièrement, sensible à la crise environnementale, elle a produit une collection d’œuvres dans le respect de sa démarche et de ses préférences formelles, mais en utilisant uniquement des matériaux recyclés de son atelier : papiers, tissus, peinture, pastels, etc. Artiste polymorphe, au cours des années, Janick a réalisé des œuvres tantôt figuratives, tantôt abstraites qui se déclinent dans une multitude de formes et de matériaux : dessins, peintures, œuvres numériques, sérigraphies, gravures, sculptures réelles et même virtuelles…          

 

Pour consulter son mémoire de maîtrise intitulé " Dualisme dans la représentation ", cliquez ici

Dans ses œuvres, elle met en présence, l’abstraction et le figuré, la couleur et la transparence, le microscopique et le macroscopique, la photographie et la peinture, le réel et le virtuel, le pixel et la cellule. L’artiste utilise le médium numérique depuis 20 ans dans son travail, à cause de ses capacités d’assemblage inégalées par transparence. Lorsqu’elle l’utilise, elle cherche à exploiter la spécificité du médium, à faire des œuvres qu’elle ne pourrait pas réaliser sans lui. Ce médium est à la base de l’assemblage de ses œuvres hybrides (média numérique et peinture). Il lui permet un travail de précision extraordinaire par couches successives (layers). Cette approche artistique, par couche, rappelle l’une des techniques les plus anciennes et les plus connues de la peinture, utilisée depuis des siècles par les peintres d’hier à aujourd’hui. La technologie revisite la peinture. Le nouveau célèbre l’ancien. Superpositions de couches. Superpositions de temps, et d’espace. Mais le passé n’est pas garant de l’avenir. Il est important pour l’artiste de continuer à chercher les meilleures voies pour traduire sa vision intérieure. Cela est une condition décisive pour la création d’une œuvre qui résonne.

Dans les dernières années, l’artiste s’est penchée sur les origines, les similitudes entre les règnes. Elle s’est intéressée, par analogie, au monde animal, puis végétal et finalement minéral. Le continuum de la vie à rebours. L’involution. Et finalement pour boucler la boucle, elle s’est inspirée de l’intervention de l’homme sur la roche : pétroglyphes, hiéroglyphes ; intégrant des éléments d’anthropomorphisme des peuples anciens dans ses nouvelles peintures éclatées et colorées. Elle retourne invariablement à ses préoccupations concernant la vie humaine et ses moyens d’expression.